THE musée national des beaux-arts du Québec

Publicize, promote, and preserve Quebec art from all periods, from early art to contemporary art, and to ensure a presence of international art through acquisitions, exhibitions and other animation activities. .

  • More than 40,000 of Quebec’s works of art since the 17th century.
React Rails

Open the complete collection of the MNBAQ to the public.

The MNBAQ mandate

The main objective of creating the MNBAQ Collections microsite, was to open the entire collection to the public, making it available everywhere, and thus, expanding the museum experience to other channels.

It is with a strategic and creative approach that we began the mandate to work on a complete digital vision for this client.

In addition to creating an interactive platform for Quebec’s 40,000 worksof art collection, O2Web was given the OK to to push the idea further in terms of functionality, and created a high-resolution image gallery with Open Source data offered to the museum visitors.   

Developed under the new PWA technology (Progressive Web App), this site is the latest trend in terms of Web development. It has all the benefits of an App but remains in the form of a website. This makes it possible to obtain a download speed that would otherwise not have been possible in high resolution for the works of art website.

A later phase will allow the MNBAQ to review the entire web platform. O2 Web is proud to have been partners with MNBAQ for several years now and will continue to participate in the digital development of this institution.

The Experience of a Visit to the Museum

Offered online.

The site allows site visitors to curate the Collections by theme and generate new Favorite albums! 

Viewing artwork in high definition.

O2 has created a gallery of high definition images to allow people to appreciate all the details of a work of art.

 

Speed, Compatibility and innovation with pwa technology

The progressive REACT Web App

The Progressive Web App is a current and innovative solution to the responsive design and technological performance of our sites. This site is fully designed using this technology.

A relevant search mode

Enriched by users

In addition the advanced search allowing users to piece among the 40,000 works of art online, users can add labels to artworks to increase the relevance of the search mode.

Full Open-data api connected to collections

The API will provide art specialists with an even more comprehensive search mode for data on Collections. The API allows the user to interrogate the platform in a different  and more extensive way. The access to museum data will allow developers to create new applications based on MNBAQ data.

.

Creating a bridge with Wikipedia !

The MNBAQ website invites specialists and researchers to share their knowledge of Quebec artists on the Wikipedia platform. In doing so, they help promote Quebec artists, while growing the Collections.

.

Sharing information with other museums.

The availability of source code allows other institutions to use the platform and thus improve the online experience. The type of license will come with an obligation to make all additions and modifications to the platform, public.

Back to portfolio

Le musée nationale des beaux arts du Québec

Faire connaître, promouvoir et conserver l’art québécois de toutes les périodes, de l’art ancien à l’art actuel, et d’assurer une présence de l’art international par des acquisitions, des expositions et d’autres activités d’animation.

  • Plus de 40 000 œuvres québécoises réalisées depuis le 17e siècle.
React Rails

Ouvrir la collection complète du MNBAQ au public

Le mandat MNBAQ

Le désir d’amplifier l’expérience muséale et la volonté d’ouvrir l’ensemble de la collection au public ont été les principaux objectifs du microsite sur les Collections du MNBAQ.

C’est avec une approche stratégique et créative que nous avons débuté le mandat afin de travailler une vision numérique complète pour ce client.

En plus de créer une plateforme interactive pour l’ensemble des 40 000 oeuvres de la collection québécoise, d’afficher une galerie d’image haute résolution et d’offrir l’ensemble des données aux visiteurs du musée de manière Open Source, O2 c’est permis de pousser l’idée plus loin en terme de fonctionnalités.

Développé sous la nouvelle technologie PWA (Progressive Web App), le site est au dernière tendance en terme de développement Web. Les avantages d’une App mais sous forme de site Web. Cela permet d’obtenir une rapidité de téléchargement que nous n’aurions pu avoir avec les oeuvres en hautes résolutions affichées sur le site.

Une phase ultérieure permettra au MNBAQ de revoir l’entièreté de sa plateforme Web. O2 Web est fier d’être partenaire avec le MNBAQ depuis plusieurs années et de continuer à participer au développement numérique de cette institution.

l’expérience d’une visite au Musée

Offerte en ligne

Le site propose une visite des Collections par albums thématiques. Les utilisateurs peuvent eux aussi se créer des favoris afin de générer eux-même des albums coup de coeur!

Visionnement des oeuvres en haute définition.

O2 à créé une galerie d’images haute définition qui permet d’apprécier l’ensemble des détails d’une oeuvre.

 

Rapidité, compatibilité et innovation avec la technologie PWA

REACT à la rescousse

Les technologies de Progressive Web App offrent aux utilisateurs une expérience comparable à celle des applications natives, plus rapide qu’un site Web conventionnel, et adaptée au support utilisé.

Un mode de recherche pertinent

Enrichi par les utilisateurs

En plus d’une recherche avancée permettant de trouver une oeuvre parmis les 40 000 oeuvres en ligne, les utilisateurs peuvent ajouter des étiquettes aux oeuvres permettant de renchérir la pertinence du mode de recherche.

API Open-Data complète relié aux Collections

Cet API permettra d’offrir aux spécialistes de l’art un mode de recherche encore plus complet sur les donnés des Collections. En effet, l’API permet d’interroger la plateforme d’une toute autre manière. L’accès aux données muséales permettra aux développeurs de créer de nouvelles applications à partir des données du MNBAQ.

Création d’un pont avec Wikipedia !

Le site du MNBAQ invite les spécialistes et chercheurs à partager leurs connaissances des artistes québécois sur la plateforme Wikipédia. Ce faisant, ils aident à promouvoir les artistes du Québec, tout en faisant grandir le site des Collections.

Offrir l’ensemble des renseignements à d’autres Musées.

La disponibilité du code source permet à d’autres institutions d’utiliser la plateforme et ainsi d’améliorer l’expérience en ligne. Le type de license viendra avec une obligation de rendre public les ajouts et modifications faites à la plateforme.

Retour au portfolio